Pahiatua
Around the World
New Zealand's West Coast
Gold mines, quarries, collieries and railways on the West Coast of South Island
plus brickworks and many other industrial remains.
Search the site here

New Zealand's West Coast, South Island - its industries and transport

Click on the button to go to :-

              

                        

                   

Click on the thumbnail to enlarge a photo or map and read more about it.
Then click 'Full Size' on the toolbar to see it in all its glory.




Blacks Point mines

Blacks Point mines, Reefton

Blacks Point mines, Reefton





Brunner Brickworks and Colliery

Brunner Brickworks and Colliery

Brunner Brickworks and Colliery





Charming Creek Railway, Ngakawau

The 6 mile long Charming Creek Railway ran from the NZR sidings at Ngahawau to Watson's Mill in 1910 and by 1925 to the Charming Creek coalmines near Seddonville. As the mines declined and road transport improved the line shut in 1958. The mines were working until 1986 and the railway line became a walking route. There's an excellent history - 'Charming Creek Tramway, milling, mining, walkway — a history' but the link on the DoC website is broken.

Charming Creek Railway Steam locos

(0-4-0)vb, Seagar, 1909, sold 1910 and used as a pile driver in Westport
0-4-4-0gt, Ruston Proctor portable engine boiler, RP 8698/97, 1913, s/s 1918
0-4-4-0gt, Ruston Proctor portable engine boiler, 1918, s/s 1921
F839 (ex F166), 0-6-0ST, RS 2594/85 ex Westport Marine Board, 1930, s/s c1947
F155, 0-6-0ST, RS 2598/86, ex-NZR, 1934, s/s c1946

Charming Creek Railway Petrol / Diesel lokeys

Fordson, c1925
Fordson, 1935
Union Foundry 26/1938, 0-4-0d, McCormack Deering WD40, s/s 1958
Union Foundry 30/1940, Bo-Bo, McCormack Deering P40, Sold 1940
Union Foundry ?/1942, 0-4-0d, McCormack Deering WD9, s/s 1958
Ruston Hornsby, 4wd 203034/42, still present on site

From Ngakawau to the bins

From the bins to the suspension bridge

Through Mangatini Tunnel to Watson's Mill

On to the mines and the motive power





The Denniston Incline

The Denniston Incline

The Denniston Incline





Mitchells Gully

Mitchells Gully

Mitchells Gully





Shantytown

Shantytown

Shantytown





Reefton

Reefton

Reefton





Westport

Westport NZR

The line to Greymouth was closed due to flooding and landslips so all the trapped locos were gathered at Westport Station.

Westport Museum

Westport Museum vividly illustrates the mining heritage of the West Coast.

Cape Foulwind

A branch line from Westport served the quarries at Cape Foulwind. It was built by the Westport Harbour Board in 1886. It was briefly part of NZR from 1921 to 1930, reverting to the Harbour Board until the 1940s when it closed. It's now a rather bracing walking route.

Stockton

The NZR sidings at Stockton are linked to the mine by this aerial ropeway.

Greymouth

Ngahere, near Brunner

This is the sole surviving 'Davidson' loco, the 25th of 26 locos built at Hokitika. It was built in 1920 and worked until 1942 when it was abandoned until being gradually restored between 1974 and 2001. It is now preserved at the site of the sidings from the logging mill where it worked for many years.

Ross and Shantytown





Acknowledgments, sources and further reading.

Thanks for addition information to :- NZ Department of Conservation
'Charming Creek Tramway, milling, mining, walkway - a history' by Jackie Breen and Amy Findlater


All rights reserved - Phil Jenkins